CFDA Fashion Awards 2022

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022. Story by Runway Magazine.

CFDA announced the list of nominees and honorees that will be celebrated at this year’s CFDA Fashion Awards 2022, which will take place on Monday, November 7, at Cipriani South Street at Casa Cipriani in New York City. CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 will celebrate this year the 60th anniversary of the CFDA.

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022
CFDA Fashion Awards 2022

The 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards in Partnership with Amazon Fashion will take place on Monday, November 7, at Cipriani South Street at Casa Cipriani in Manhattan, New York.

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 - Patti Wilson

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 - Virgil Abloh

The Board of Trustee’s Award will posthumously be given to Virgil Abloh to honor the late designer’s contribution to global fashion.

Lenny Kravitz is the CFDA’s 2022 Fashion Icon.

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 - Lenny Kravitz

The Positive Social Influence Award is going to Slaysians from the The House of Slay featuring Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William.

The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert goes to Andrew Bolton, Wendy Yu Curator in Charge, The Costume Institute at The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award.

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 - Thom Browne
CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 - Andrew Bolton

The Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard goes to Patti Wilson.

The Environmental Sustainability Award will be presented to The United Nations and accepted by Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, United Nations Deputy Secretary-General.

This year, the CFDA is introducing a new Stylist Award. The inaugural recipient is Law Roach.

To mark the CFDA’s 60th anniversary year, the CFDA is adding a one-time Special Anniversary Award, which goes to longtime CFDA member Jeffrey Banks.

“The 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards will celebrate not just honor American fashion’s best and brightest talents, but also the CFDA’s 60th anniversary milestone,” CFDA CEO Steven Kolb said. “This year’s nominees reflect the renewed excitement around American fashion generated by designers who are redefining the future of our industry. The CFDA thanks Amazon Fashion for its support of the awards.”

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 - Gabriela Hearst

“The CFDA Fashion Awards is an opportunity to recognize and applaud the designers who are using their creativity to transform and drive the industry forward,” said Muge Erdirik Dogan, President of Amazon Fashion. “Amazon Fashion shares a joint mission with the CFDA to support America’s foremost designers, who have been influential in their efforts, from sustainability to innovation. Congratulations to all of the nominees and honorees this year.”

Nominations for each award category were submitted by the CFDA Fashion Awards Guild, made up of members of the CFDA, along with top fashion retailers, journalists, and stylists.

See the full list of CFDA honorees and nominees:

CFDA’s 2022 Fashion Icon
Lenny Kravitz

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 - Christopher John Rogers

Positive Social Influence Award
Slaysians from the House of Slay, featuring Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William

Founder’s Award in Honor of Eleanor Lambert
Andrew Bolton, Wendy Yu curator in charge, the Metropolitan Museum of Art

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark, Chrome Hearts

Media Award in Honor of Eugenia Sheppard
Patti Wilson

CFDA Fashion Awards 2022 - Catherine Holstein Khaite

Environmental Sustainability Award
The United Nations

Stylist Award
Law Roach

American Womenswear Designer of the Year
Catherine Holstein, Khaite
Christopher John Rogers
Gabriela Hearst
LaQuan Smith
Peter Do

American Menswear Designer of the Year
Emily Adams Bode Aujla, Bode
Jerry Lorenzo, Fear of God
Mike Amiri, Amiri
Thom Browne
Willy Chavarria

American Accessory Designer of the Year
Aurora James, Brother Vellies
Brandon Blackwood
Raul Lopez, Luar
Stuart Vevers, Coach
Telfar Clemens, Telfar

American Emerging Designer of the Year
Bach Mai
Carly Mark, Puppets and Puppets
Colm Dillane, KidSuper
Elena Velez
Lauren Harwell Godfrey, Harwell Godfrey

Stay tuned.

See more about CFDA Fashion Awards ceremony 2021 HERE

Posted from New York, Manhattan, United States.